Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Mayo Sinn Fein have slected three canditates to contest the Urban Council Elections in June

4 March, 2004

At a meeting in Castlebar on Wedensday night Mayo Sinn Fein ratified the following candidates. Noel Campell will contest Castlebar Town Council. Dave Keating will contest Westport Town Council and Peter Clarke will contest Ballina Town Council. Outgoing County Councillor Gerry Murray was slected to stand in the Swinford Electoral area for the Mayo County Council elections.

Mayo Sinn Fein expect to announce a number of other canditates in the coming weeks and will be putting forward their biggest ever election team in the county since the 1920's.

Speaking after the convention, which was chaired by Sinn Féin Sligo Corporation Councillor Chis McManus, Mayo Sinn Féin's Vincent Wood who was the party's candidate in the last general election said:

"I am very pleased to endorse the nominees ratified at this convention and know that we have a formidible team of candidates now in place to contest the three Town Councils. Dave Keating, Noel Campbell and Peter Clarke will ensure that the people of Westport, Castlebar and Ballina experience the change in political representation so badly needed in these towns. I have absolutely no doubt that Gerry Murray will be returned in the Swinford electoral area and will be joined by other Sinn Féin County Councillors.

"We will be holding further conventions to finalise our panel for the County Council areas in order to offer the people of Mayo the widest possible opportunity to vote for the only real political opposition. This will be a good election for Sinn Féin. Our opponents in all parties know this and we can expect all kinds of hysterical attacks from national and local politicians alike as a response to this growth. The people of Mayo will see through all of this and the future shape of Mayo politics will be changed for the better." ENDS


Connect with Sinn Féin