Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Technical Group formed in Dáil

10 December, 2010 - by Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD

The five Sinn Féin TDs and two Independent Deputies have today formed a Technical Group under Dáil Standing Orders in order to secure improved speaking time in the Dáil.

The five Sinn Féin TDs Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, Aengus Ó Snodaigh, Martin Ferris, Arthur Morgan and Pearse Doherty and the two Independent Deputies Finian McGrath and Maureen O’Sullivan have written to the Ceann Comhairle Séamus Kirk formally requesting recognition as a Group as provided for under Dáil Standing Order 116.

In a joint statement the seven TDs said:

“A Technical Group is now being formed under Dáil Standing Orders to ensure full speaking and participation rights for seven TDs – five Sinn Féin TDs and two Independent Deputies.

“We have held a series of positive and constructive meetings over the past two weeks and have reached agreement on the logistics of the new Technical Group.

“We have consistently pressed Government to make the necessary changes in Standing Orders so that all parties and all Deputies can be treated with fairness. Despite our efforts the Government dug in its heels and maintained the present unfair system as far as Dáil rules are concerned.

“We emphasise that the Sinn Féin party and each of the two non-party Deputies will maintain their respective independence and separate identity in terms of policy and voting in Dáil divisions.

“This is a technical arrangement under Dáil Standing Orders and not a political alliance.” ENDS

Connect with Sinn Féin