Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Political voices seek urgent meetings in effort to save Quinn jobs

17 January, 2011 - by Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD

The all-party cross-border political group that supports the retention in Irish ownership of Quinn Insurance Ltd and the proposals that best secure the retention of all existing jobs in Quinn Insurance Ltd in Cavan, in Enniskillen and in Blanchardstown and Navan and elsewhere and that offers the best prospect of securing the tax-payers’ interest regarding the €2.8b owed by Seán Quinn to Anglo Irish Bank, now in State ownership, confirm that they met on Saturday in Cavan following on the previous evenings Cavan Chamber of Commerce hosted meeting for employees and relevant interested parties and attended by Dáil and Seanad representatives from Cavan/Monaghan and other elected voices from north and south of the border.

The all-party group from across the region met in the Hotel Kilmore on Saturday afternoon. A thorough consideration was given to all possible actions and approaches to be taken, with a programme of meetings to be sought agreed, as were specific initiatives to be undertaken in both Houses of the Oireachtas and in the Northern Assembly over the coming days.

The group advise that all meeting requests were issued on Sunday (yesterday – 16th January) by both email and by post and that a pro-active follow-up will be employed in an effort to ensure the earliest possible engagements with all the relevant decision makers and stakeholders. It is the group’s explicit request that these meetings would take place this week.

Meetings have been sought with the following;

Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan TD
The Joint Administrators
The Chief Executive and Chairman of Anglo Irish Bank
The Financial Regulator and the Governor of the Central Bank
The Chief Executive of the National Treasury Management Agency

Cavan/Monaghan Dáil Deputy Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin has been appointed Convenor of the all-party group. All meeting requests have issued in the joint names of all the participating Oireachtas and Assembly members with others expected to append their names over the coming days. The full list of those already signed up to the group are:

Brendan Smith TD (Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food)
Michelle Gildernew MP MLA (Minister for Agriculture and Rural Development)
Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD (Convenor of the group)
Dr. Rory O’Hanlon TD
Margaret Conlon TD
Seymour Crawford TD
Frank Feighan TD
Senator Joe O’Reilly
Senator Diarmuid Wilson
Tommy Gallagher MLA
Gerry McHugh MLA

Connect with Sinn Féin