Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Sinn Féin delegation to attend official EU Accession Ceremony

30 April, 2004

A Sinn Féin delegation led by Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD, will attend the official ceremony to welcome the 10 new Accession states to the EU. Deputy Ó Caoláin will be joined by his colleagues, Arthur Morgan TD, Sean Crowe TD, and EU candidates Mary Lou McDonald (Dublin) and Bairbre de Brún (Six Counties). 


The ceremony will be held in Dublin Castle at 11.30am.


Speaking today Deputy Ó Caoláin said:


On behalf of Sinn Féin, I wish to take this opportunity to welcome the 10 Accession states to the EU. May 1st 2004 is a unique day, and should be used to celebrate cultural diversity and tolerance.


Sinn Féin extends a warm welcome to the states of the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. ENDS

Immediately after the official Accession ceremony, Sinn Féin Dublin EU candidate Mary Lou McDonald will be speaking at the Another Europe is Possible march on Dame Street, Dublin. The march is scheduled to commence at 12 noon.

Connect with Sinn Féin