Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Fishery Harbour appointments announced

2 May, 2012 - by Michelle O'Neill

The Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (DARD) has announced the appointment of a new chairman and three new members of the Fishery Harbour Authority.

Mr Terry Jarvis is the new Chairperson and will take up his position on the 26 June 2012. Ms Helen Henderson, Dr George McIlroy and Mr Martin McDonald have been appointed as Board members of the Authority.

Welcoming the appointments, Fisheries Minister Michelle O’Neill MLA said:

“The successful candidates have clearly demonstrated that they possess the knowledge and experience to make a valuable contribution to the work of the Harbour Authority.

“I have no doubt that they will be able to assist the Authority as it takes forward its important work of managing and improving fishery harbour infrastructure and services.”

The Minister also paid tribute to previous board members, Capt Brian Majury who resigned in Dec 2011, and Mr Gordon Irwin whose term ended in March 2012.

The Minister said:

“Brian and Gordon made a valuable contribution to the work of the Authority in difficult times. I would like to thank them for their service and dedication and wish them all the best for the future.”

Connect with Sinn Féin