Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Government must protect Irish-British Common Travel Area - Ó Snodaigh

3 July, 2016

Sinn Féin TD Aengus Ó Snodaigh has called on the Irish Government to respect the result of Brexit referendum in the North of Ireland to remain in the EU, and to protect the Common Travel Area between Britain and Ireland.

As Co-Rapporteur to the British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly’s European Affairs Committee, Ó Snodaigh will present a report on visa systems in Ireland and Britain to the Assembly at its meeting in Malahide tomorrow morning.

Speaking this evening, Aengus Ó Snodaigh said:

“People in the North of Ireland voted to remain in the European Union. The failure of the British Government to respect this vote, puts at risk the Common Travel Area (CTA) arrangements within Ireland and between Ireland and Britain.

“To unravel these arrangements would be to disregard the vote in the North; would be bureaucratic and costly, and would run contrary to the Good Friday Agreement.

“The Irish Government must do all in its power not to ensure that the Remain vote in the North of Ireland is respected and implemented.

"It needs to resist any attempts to impose a visa regime between Britain and Ireland or to re-construct a land border between both parts of Ireland.

“To do otherwise will lead to difficulties for Irish citizens travelling between North and South; travel/visa requirements on Irish citizens living in Britain; and the undermining of the recent mutual recognition British-Irish Visa scheme for visitors from China and India, which has significantly boosted tourism in Ireland North and South.”



The report on visa systems was undertaken to inquire into the workings of different visa systems particularly within the Britain and Ireland.

Meetings were held with officials in the EU, Britain and Ireland to gather information and also written evidence was presented by some agencies which helped formulate the report.

The Common Travel Area (CTA) arrangements cover Ireland, Britain, Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man. All nationals of these countries can travel freely within the CTA.

Connect with Sinn Féin