Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Border Communities Against Brexit to receive EU Prize at Ceremony next week - Carthy

4 July, 2017 - by Matt Carthy MEP

Sinn Féin MEP Matt Carthy has announced details of the Award ceremony for the anti-Brexit community organisation “Border Communities Against Brexit”following their winning of the prestigious European Parliament Citizen's Prize. The ceremony will take place in the Garage Theatre, Monaghan Town on Friday week, 14th July, at 7.30pm.  The public are welcome to attend.


Speaking today Mr. Carthy said:


“Border Communities Against Brexit was nominated for the European Citizens Prize by the four Sinn FéinMEPs and by independent MEPs Nessa Childers & Marian Harkin.


"That the cross-sectoral, cross-border community led group have won the prize is a fantastic endorsement of the great work carried out by its members and the communities which form its backbone.  


“We are looking forward to the ceremony on Friday week to celebrate the work of Border Communities Against Brexit to date but also because the presentation of the award will provide another great opportunity to highlight Irish concerns regarding Brexit at an international level.


“Border Communities Against Brexit have played a key role in opposing British Tory determination to drag the North of Ireland out of the EU against the democratically expressed wishes of the people there. They have been instrumental in bringing together the key sectors that will be negatively impacted by any Brexit induced hardening of the Irish border - businesses, workers, farmers and civic society.


“The prize giving ceremony which will be attended by the nominating MEPs is a perfect chance for people across the border region to highlight our thanks to BCAD for their work to date but also to send a powerful message that our concerns regarding Brexit remain as live as ever.  I urge as many people as possible to attend the ceremony which will include some musical entertainment and at which light refreshments will be served”.


Connect with Sinn Féin