Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Sinn Féin tables motion of no confidence in Tánaiste - Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire TD

23 November, 2017 - by Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire TD

Sinn Féin Justice spokesperson Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire TD has submitted to the Journal Office a motion of no confidence in Tánaiste Frances Fitzgerald.

The motion is due to be debated and voted on next Wednesday 29 November.

Speaking today Teachta Ó Laoghaire stated;

“We have this afternoon tabled a motion of no confidence in An Tánaiste Frances Fitzgerald.

“This is on the back of her inability to satisfy queries about her lack of action when she first became aware of the strategy devised by the Garda Commissioner’s legal team in an attempt to smear the name of whistle-blower Sergeant Maurice McCabe.

“We believe we have at this stage given the Tánaiste ample opportunity to be fully transparent on all outstanding questions, and it is regrettable that she has not taken it.

“Our motion will be taken in our Private Members Time on Wednesday of next week.”



“This House, declares that Dáil Éireann has no confidence in the Tánaiste Frances Fitzgerald, and calls on her to resign from the Position of Tánaiste, and from the position of Minister of Business, Enterprise and Innovation forthwith.”

Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire, Gerry Adams, John Brady, Pat Buckley, Seán Crowe, David Cullinane, Pearse Doherty, Dessie Ellis, Martin Ferris, Kathleen Funchion, Martin Kenny, Mary  Lou McDonald,  Denise  Mitchell,  Imelda  Munster, Carol  Nolan, Jonathan O'Brien, Eoin Ó Broin, Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, Louise O'Reilly, Aengus Ó Snodaigh, Maurice Quinlivan, Brian Stanley, Peadar Tóibín.

Connect with Sinn Féin