Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Sinn Féin select candidates for Colin area

22 October, 2018 - by Charlene O'Hara

Sinn Féin this evening selected five candidates to contest the upcoming council elections in the Colin DEA for Belfast City Council.

At a selection convention in the Balmoral Hotel, party members selected sitting councillors Seánna Walsh, Charlene O’Hara, Matt Garrett, Danny Baker and Stephen Magennis as the party’s Colin District Electoral Area candidates for the election which will be held in May 2019. 

Speaking after the selection convention, Cllr Charlene O’Hara said:

“We are very proud and extremely honoured to have been selected to go forward for Ard Chomhairle ratification to contest the 2019 council elections in the Colin area. 

“We have a strong party organisation in the Colin area, and a council team with a great blend of youth and experience.

“This Sinn Féin council team has delivered for the Colin area, and we will be going to the people with that record of delivery.

“We have worked hard on the ground, in conjunction with our fantastic community leaders, and we are proud to be part of a team that strives to increase investment, create more jobs and make the Colin area an even better place to live.

“The Sinn Féin Belfast council group will continue to stand strongly against Brexit and those who supported it and the devastating consequences which it threatens to bring on our communities and on ordinary people.

“We will also continue to battle against the denial of citizens’ rights, on the Irish language, on legacy issues, on LGBT and marriage equality, and on our national rights.

“Sinn Féin has delivered and we will continue to deliver and stand up for the citizens of the Colin area.” 

Connect with Sinn Féin