Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Sinn Féin announce details of Easter Commemorations

12 April, 2006

Sinn Féin Vice President Pat Doherty MP today released details of the main annual Sinn Féin Easter Commemorations. Mr Doherty said that this weekend would see tens of thousands of republicans taking part in marches, commemorations and wreath laying ceremonies across the island.

Mr Doherty said:

"This year marks the 90th anniversary of the 1916 Easter Rising. It is an important time for Irish republicans. It is a time for remembering our friends and colleagues who have given their lives in pursuit of our republican ideals and goals. It is a time for reflecting on these ideals.

“Events organised by Sinn Féin’s National Commemoration Committee will take place in all 32 Counties. It is a very positive development that the Irish Government has also decided to mark the anniversary with a commemorative event in our capital city and Sinn Féin will participate in this event on Sunday.

"At this time each year Republicans recall the words of the 1916 Proclamation - an historic document - one of the most progressive documents ever written. The Proclamation spells out the demand for social and economic justice and democracy, of cherishing all the children of the nation equally, irrespective of colour, religion, gender, ability or race, equally.

"Easter is also a time of renewal - a time when we as Irish republicans rededicate ourselves to the legitimate and achievable goals of independence and unity for the people of this island.

"The past year has undoubtedly been a momentous one for republicans and the peace process. The historic decisions taken by the IRA in the course of the past 12 months have presented enormous challenges for all of us, not least the unionists and the two governments. Yet despite the progress made unionism has yet to agree the share power on the basis of equality and respect.

“But simply commemorating the events of Easter 1916 is not enough. Learning the lessons of 1916 means putting the issue of Irish unity at the top of the political agenda. It means the Irish government driving forward a process which will deliver national reunification.

"There are over 100 commemorations throughout the island and scores more smaller events. Internationally many Irish exiles will also take part in commemorations. I am calling on people to wear an Easter Lily and to make this years Easter Commemorations and events bigger and better than ever before." ENDS

Sinn Féin Easter Commemorations - 2006

Friday, 14th April

Dublin (Arbour Hill) Assemble at 2.30pm Speaker Sean Crowe TD

Saturday 15th

Dublin City Assemble at 1.30pm Speaker Gerry Adams MP

Dublin (Phibsboro) Assemble at 11am Speaker Mary Lou McDonald MEP

Dublin (Ballyfermot) Assemble 12 noon Speaker Cllr Críona Ní Dhalaigh

Armagh(Mullaghbawn) Assemble 8pm Speaker Cllr Toireasa Ferris

Belfast ( Whitewell) Assemble 5pm Speaker Cllr Paul Butler

Tyrone (Coalisland) Assemble at 3pm Speaker Bairbre de Brún MEP

Waterford City Assemble 3pm Speaker Cllr David Cullinane

Armagh (Portadown) Assemble 12.30pm Speaker Cllr Padraig MacLochlainn

Easter Sunday 16th

Belfast Assemble 1pm Speaker Gerry Adams MP

Cork City Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Martin McGuinness MP

Derry City Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Martina Anderson

Armagh(Crossmaglen) Assemble 11am Speaker Cllr Toireasa Ferris

Donegal(Drumboe) Assemble 3pm Speaker Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD

Tyrone (Carrickmore) Assemble 3pm Speaker Gerry Kelly MLA

Mayo (Castlebar) Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Caitríona Ruane MLA

Waterford (Ardmore) Assemble 3pm Speaker Martin Ferris TD

Armagh (Newry) Assemble 12.30pm Speaker Eibhlín Glenholmes

Sligo Town Assemble 3pm Speaker Aengus Ó Snodaigh TD

Armagh (Lurgan) Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Alex Maskey MLA

Louth (Dundalk) Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Conor Murphy MP

Derry (The Loup) Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Declan Kearney

Fermanagh (Roslea) Assemble 3.30pm Speaker Jim Gibney

Galway City Assemble 3pm Speaker Micheal MacDonncha

Monaghan Town Assemble 3pm Speaker Mitchel McLaughlin MLA

Kilkenny (Mooncoin) Assemble 12noon Speaker Kathleen Funchion

Cork (Youghal) Assemble 11am Speaker Cllr Sandra McLellan

Limerick City Assemble 12.30 Speaker Cllr Pat Treanor

Kerry (Tralee) Assemble 3pm Speaker Barry McElduff MLA

Laois (Portlaoise) Assemble 3pm Speaker Cllr Killian Forde

Longford Town Assemble 3pm Speaker Davy Hyland MLA

State Commemoration in Dublin City – Pat Doherty MP, Bairbre de Brún MEP, Arthur Morgan TD, Sean Crowe TD and Michelle Gildernew MP

Easter Monday 17th

Dublin (Dun Laoghaire) Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Pat Doherty MP

Wexford (Enniscorthy) Assemble 2pm Speaker Martin Ferris TD

Armagh City Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Conor Murphy MP

North Belfast (Ardoyne) Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Cllr Pearse Doherty

Downpatrick Assemble 6pm Speaker Caral Ni Chulain

Tyrone (Ardboe) Assemble 2pm Speaker Eibhlín Glenholmes

Derry (Swatragh) Assemble 2.30pm Speaker Philip McGuigan MLA

Donegal (Pettigo) Assemble 3pm Speaker Cllr Matt Carthy

Wicklow (Brady) Assemble 11.30pm Speaker Cllr John Brady

Westmeath (Athlone) Assemble 3pm Speaker Cllr Joe Reilly

Easter Tuesday 18th

Antrim(Toomebridge) Assemble 4.30pm Speaker Michelle Gildernew MP

North Belfast (Ardoyne) Assemble 1pm Speaker Arthur Morgan TD

Connect with Sinn Féin