Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Sinn Féin Ministerial Team Unveiled At Stormont

4 April, 2007

Sinn Féin today announced which Ministers would take up responsibility for which departments when the political institutions go live on May 8th. Speaking at a press conference outside Stormont the nominee for the position of Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness said:

"I am pleased to announce that Michelle Gildernew will take up responsibility for Agriculture and Rural Development, Caitriona Ruane will take over Education and Conor Murphy will become the Minister responsible for Regional Development. Gerry Kelly will become a Junior Minister within the Office of the First and Deputy First Minister.

"Over the next number of weeks as a Ministerial team we will meet with our departments and even more importantly we will meet with groups and individuals with a special interest or contribution to make in these areas. We want to listen to people and learn from their experience so that we will all hit the ground running on May 8th.

"We are looking forward to working with the other parties in the Executive and the Assembly as we seek to deliver for people across our society.

"Sinn Féin are about bringing about change and about delivering equality. This will be our approach in government. We are facing into exciting times for politics on this island and as a part of a Ministerial, Assembly and all-Ireland team I believe that we are ideally placed to meet the many challenges which will undoubtedly lie ahead." ENDS

Connect with Sinn Féin