Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Celebrate 1916 and work for Irish unity

19 March, 2008

Sinn Féin President Gerry Adams has invited people to attend and support the events throughout the country over the coming weekend to commemorate the 92nd anniversary of the 1916 Easter Rising.

He said 'the best way to celebrate the spirit of 1916 is for everyone committed to Irish re-unification to work together for that goal.'

More than 100 Easter Commemorations will take place throughout the country this weekend. Details of the main commemorations are listed below.

Mr. Adams said:

"This weekend hundreds of events, large and small, will take place throughout the country to mark the 92nd anniversary of the 1916 Easter Rising. I want to invite people to attend and support these events.

"The best way to celebrate the spirit of Easter 1916 is for all of those who are committed to Irish reunification, regardless of party political affiliation, to work together to bring it about as soon as possible." ENDS

Main Sinn Féin Easter Commemorations 2008

Saturday 22nd

Armagh (Mullaghbawn) - Assemble 6pm Speaker: Gerry Kelly

Dublin (Ballyfermot) - Assemble 11.30am. Speaker: Aengus Ó Snodaigh

Tyrone (Coalisland) - Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Barry McElduff

Belfast (Whitewell) - Assemble 5pm. Speaker: Jennifer McCann.

Sunday 23rd

Dublin - Assemble 1.30pm on Parnell Square - Speaker :Gerry Adams

Galway City - Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin

Derry City- Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Senator Pearse Doherty

Belfast City - Assemble Beechmount Avenue 1pm Speaker: Conor Murphy

Fermanagh (Donagh) - Assemble 2.30pm Speaker: Michelle Gildernew

Monaghan Town - Assemble 3.30pm. Speaker: Bairbre de Brún

Cork City - Assemble 2pm. Speaker: Alex Maskey

Sligo - Assemble . Speaker Aengus Ó Snodaigh

Armagh (Crossmaglen) - Assemble 11am. Speaker: Martina Anderson.

The Loup - Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Martin McGuinness

Donegal (Drumboe) - Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Gerry Kelly

Down (Castlewellan) - Assemble 4pm. Speaker: Jennifer McCann

Mayo (Castlebar) - Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker Pádraig MacLochlainn

Tyrone (Carrickmore) -Assemble 3.30pm. Speaker: Pat Doherty

Waterford (Ardmore) - Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Martin Ferris

Armagh (Lurgan) - Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Carál Ní Cuilín

Kerry (Tralee) - Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Tomas Sharkey

Monday 24th

Dún Laoghaire - Assemble 1.30pm at Casement Villas. Speaker: Mary LouMcDonald

Roscommon (Loughglynn Cemetary) - Assemble 2pm. Speaker: Francie Molloy

Wexford (Enniscorthy) - Assemble 2pm. Speaker: Arthur Morgan

Monaghan (Scotstown) - Assemble 11am. Speaker: Eibhlín Glenholmes

Westmeath (Athlone) - Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Mícheál MacDonncha

Monaghan (Clones) - Assemble 2:30pm. Speaker: Paul Hogan

Galway (Conamara) - Assemble 12noon. Speaker: Eoghan MacCormaic

Derry (Swatragh) - Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Matt Carthy

Armagh City - Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Michelle O'Neill

Tuesday 25th

Belfast (Ardoyne) - Assemble 2pm. Speaker: Martina Anderson

Connect with Sinn Féin