Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Another boost for Community Transport

6 October, 2008

Sinn Féin Transport Minister Conor Murphy today handed over the keys of 30 fully accessible minibuses to representatives of Rural Community Transport Partnerships.

The minibuses, which were procured by Translink for the Department for Regional Development at a cost of £1.3m, will be used by the partnerships to provide specialised transport services in rural areas throughout the north.

At the event, which took place at Parliament Buildings, the minister said:

"I am delighted to hand over these vehicles and hope that this clearly demonstrates our commitment to providing better access to training, job opportunities and recreation to those people in our rural communities.

"I believe by providing support to our Rural Partnerships we help to tackle the factors that all too often lead to social exclusion. This support should ensure the continuation of high quality transport services in rural areas."

Agriculture Minister Michelle Gildernew, who was also at the event, said:

"I am very keen to promote and increase any initiative which makes life easier for rural people. I welcome this investment which provides much needed transport services to people with reduced mobility living in rural areas across the North. The services, offered by Rural Community Transport Partnerships, positively contributes to the reduction in social exclusion for our rural dwellers." ENDS


  1. The Rural Transport fund (RTF) has a prime objective to reduce social exclusion by improving/providing transport opportunities for people with reduced mobility in rural areas.
  2. In 2007 the 17 Rural Community Transport Partnerships provided in excess of 500,000 passenger trips across the north.
  3. The new fleet of minibuses replaces the existing fleet which are over 8 years old and had reached the end of their useful life-span.
  4. The full list of recipients of the minibuses is as follows:-

Accessible Community Travel Services (ACTS) - based in Newcastle (1x minibus)
Armagh Rural Transport (ART) - based in Armagh (1 x minibus)
Causeway Area Rural Transport (CART) - based in Coleraine (2 x minibuses)
Cookstown Rural Community Transport (CRCT) - based in Cookstown (1 x minibus)
Down Armagh Rural Transport (DART) - based in Lurgan (2 x minbuses)
Down Community Transport (DCT) - based in Downpatrick (2 x minibuses)
Dungannon & District Community Transport (DDCT) -based in Dungannon (1 x minibus)
Easilift - based in Strabane (3 x minibuses)
Fermanagh & South Tyrone Rural Transport (FAST) - based in Irvinestown (3 x minibuses)
Lagan Valley Rural Transport (LVRT) - based in Lisburn (2 x minibuses)
Newry & Mourne Community Transport (NMCT) -based in Newry (2 x minibuses)
North Antrim Community Transport (NACT) -based in Ballycastle (2 x minibuses)
Out & About Community Transport -based in Magherafelt (1 x minibus)
Peninsula Community Transport (PACT) -based in Kircubbin ( 2 x minbuses)
Roe Valley Community Transport (RVCT) -based in Limavady (2 x minibuses)
Rural Lift for SW Fermanagh - based in Enniskillen (2 x minibuses

Connect with Sinn Féin