Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Stronger Sinn Féin council team will challenge negative dominance of unionism – Kearney

22 February, 2019 - by Declan Kearney

Speaking at the South Antrim Sinn Féin local government selection convention, National Chairperson and local MLA, Declan Kearney said that the Party will field the largest ever number of council candidates across the constituency.

The South Antrim MLA said:

“Sinn Féin faces into the local government elections in South Antrim with the objective of electing the largest ever number of local councillors.

“A total of eight candidates will contest DEAs in the Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council, and the Party will stand another candidate in the Killultagh DEA (including Glenavy, Lower Ballinderry and Stonyford), which sits within the Lisburn and Castlereagh Borough Council.

“Ratepayers are not well served by the unionist dominated councils which cover the South Antrim constituency. Sinn Féin aims to maximise our council strength in the next mandate.

“A stronger Sinn Féin council team will ensure that the negative dominance of political unionism is challenged, that the rights of all local citizens are respected and that ratepayers get good value for money from good quality council services.

“Our councillors will act as agents for change in local government, and promote rights, equality and Irish unity.

“This local government election comes at a time of unprecedented political instability caused by the continued denial of rights and democracy in the north by the DUP and British government, and the Brexit catastrophe being driven by their toxic alliance.

“We have entered the political end game. Every vote for Sinn Féin now is another brick in the road we are building towards the achievement of an agreed, united Ireland.

“On 2nd May, the electorate in South Antrim will have an opportunity to elect an unprecedented number of Sinn Féin councillors, and once again drive forward the momentum for political change in our society.” 

Note to Editors: Rosie Kinnear - Glengormley Urban, Andrew Maguire - Dunsilly DEA, Cathy Rooney - Airport DEA, Gerard Magee - Antrim Town, Henry Cushinan - Dunsilly DEA, Michael Goodman - Glengormley Urban, Anne Marie Logue - Airport DEA

Not in photograph: Taylor McGrann - Macedon and Gary McCleave - Kilultagh

Connect with Sinn Féin