Sinn Féin - On Your Side

Sinn Féin Mayors and Chairs to spearhead voter registration campaign

13 September, 2006

Sinn Féin Mayors and Chairs on local authorities across Ireland will meet in Dublin tomorrow, Thursday 14th September at 2pm. At the top of their agenda are plans for a series of initiatives in the coming months to assist efforts to restore the political institutions in the north, a major road safety awareness campaign across the island and support for a Sinn Féin health rally in Dublin on October 21st.

Tomorrow the Mayors and Chairs will also announce details of a voter registration campaign which will take place across the country in the coming months.

Also attending the meeting will be party Chairperson Mary Lou McDonald, TD Aengus Ó Snodaigh, MLA Francie Molloy and head of Sinn Féin‚s councillors group Joe Reilly.

Ms. McDonald will be available to speak to the media at 2pm at the top of Parnell Square (at the entrance to the Garden of Remembrance) There will also be a photo opportunity with all of the party's Mayor and Chairpersons at 2pm with the leaflets and posters which will be used for the campaign.

Sinn Féin Chairs/Mayors


Anthony Curtin Mayor Listowel Town Council

Robert Beasley Vice Chair Kerry County Council

John Desmond Vice Mayor Bandon Town Council


David Keating Vice Chair Westport Town Council


John Dwyer Mayor New Ross Town Council

Brian Stanley Mayor Portlaoise Town Council

Paul Hogan Vice Mayor Athlone Town Council

Six Counties

Seán Begley Chair Omagh District Council

Willie Clarke Chair Down District Council

Ian Milne Chair Magherafelt District Council

Pearse McAleer Chair Cookstown District Council

John McElhiney Chair Limavady District Council

Michelle O‚Neill Vice Chair Dungannon Town Council


Matt Carthy Mayor Carrickmacross Town Council

Gene Duffy Mayor Ballybay Town Council

Brian McKeown Vice Mayor Cavan Town Council

Connect with Sinn Féin